Daniel Juncadella driving a Force India F1 car in 2014

The Formula Three Race Without A Winner

I wrote recently about the 1983 Brazilian Grand Prix, an unusual Formula One race where no one came second, which led to some conversation about just how unusual an outcome that is. It requires a driver to be disqualified and the subsequent drivers not being promoted to take their places. There has been another case, not in Formula One, but certainly more recently. The Formula Three race without a winner was back in 2012, at the Norisring, on the 30th June that year.

Raffaele Marciello started on pole in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship race, alongside Pascal Wehrlein. Daniel Juncadella passed both of them after an excellent start, and later in the race, Wehrlein passed Juncadella to take the lead. Juncadella made an attempted pass, with Wehrlein being pushed off the track. Marciello made his attempt to take the lead, which saw him spinning, and ended up hitting a wall. The safety car came out, and the race was red flagged. Juncadella appeared to take the win, but was then disqualified due to those collisisons. Rather than the other two podium finishers, Will Buller and Emil Bernstorff being promoted a place each, they kept second and third and no winner was recorded.

Here’s some fan footage from the Norisring:

Juncadella moved to DTM in 2013 and combined that with being the Force India Formula One test driver in 2014, as per the photo at the top of this page. He stayed in DTM until 2017 when he moved to the Blancpain GT series. The Norisring saw more disappointment for Juncadella, as he was one of five drivers disqualified from a DTM race there almost exactly four years after the Formula Three incident on 26th June 2016. That race saw a podium featuring Nico Müller, Tom Blomqvist and Maxime Martin, so it was not quite as unusual a circumstance.